} -->


Didier Drogba Win African Footballer of The Year 2009

Didier Drogba has been named African Footballer of the Year 2009 by the Confederation of African Football. The award was voted on by all CAF member associations, who each picked their top three players (three points for first choice, two for second, one for third). Ivorian Drogba was the runaway winner with 92 points, Samuel Eto’o came second with 69 points and Michael Essien third with 42 points. Given Drogba’s form for Chelsea this season, it’s tough to argue with the votes.

This is Drogba’s second African Footballer of the Year win, after he collected the award in 2006. You could even argue it’s his third if you count 2007, where Drogba won but couldn’t attend the ceremony and so they gave it to Fredi Kanoute instead. Double D had pledged to “withdraw from all voting for CAF awards” at the time, but appears to have mellowed. Good news is that though Drogba couldn’t attend the Awards Gala in Accra, Ghana, CAF were still happy to let a representative from the Ivorian Football Federation receive the award on his behalf.

Artikel Terkait


Post a Comment